Medium rare interview with Amanda Biggs

The perfect amount of cooked

Here it is. The end result of that incredibly raw interview with Katniss Ever-Beans (Amanda Biggs.) I went into editing this audio without hesitation, because I have had quite a bit of experience when it comes to audio editing. I used to produce a podcast through the Branding Iron, the student newspaper, and I would write and edit it all by myself. So, I thought this would be no different. I neglected to realize that GarageBand is a completely different program than that of Audacity.

I had a good time editing the audio. I feel like I learned a lot and it will be very helpful when I seek employment after graduation. Speaking of which, if you know anyone looking for an OK audio editor, I’m your guy. My favorite part of the editing was figuring it out for myself because I didn’t really use the guide. I winged it for the most part and I think it turned out pretty great!

The thing that I didn’t enjoy about audio editing, was my lack of knowledge when it comes to the editing process. I had this idea that it would go pretty easy because I have used GarageBand before, but the two are nothing alike. I do like the fact that it has more options for editing, so I’ll give it credit for not being as easy to work as GarageBand.

I wasn’t surprised by a whole lot, other than how long it took to piece the audio together. I tried to write down which sections of the audio I wanted to use and piece together, but every time I would cut out some audio the times would change, so I would lose the clip I wanted to use. I guess if I would have used the cheat sheet more, it would have been a little bit easier.

If I could do anything differently, I think I would use the cheat sheet more. I think that the cheat sheet would have provided me with a lot more guidance and made it much easier to piece it together and, just in general, make it easier for me to edit the audio.

Overall, this was a great assignment and I enjoy when I get the opportunity to do something that could assist me in my future endeavors. I think that having this type of knowledge when it comes to audio editing will definitely help me in my future.

Leave a comment