Promo Video: ‘Coal Creek Tap’, it’s where it’s at

So…we made a video. The latest assignment and last assignment of our class included us having the choice of creating a journalistic video or a promotional video. Naturally, we went with the promotional video because it provides a lot of artistic freedom when producing the video and creating content.

The Amanda Biggs, who was previously featured in a post titled “Medium rare interview with Amanda Biggs,” and I sat down at one of our favorite downtown Laramie destinations to create a masterpiece. We decided to promote Coal Creek Tap, a local brewery that has a lot to offer.

Needless to say, once we had decided on this as our focus, shenanigans ensued. We had a great time going around getting artsy shots, in this already artsy location, and we had fun making fun of ourselves.

We decided to go with a funny, but serious tone for the video because that’s how we would describe ourselves. But, we also think it provides for a comforting tone to viewers to feel like they can truly be themselves at this awesome bar. I was not a big fan of being on screen, but when I become a movie star that will just be a part of my life, so it’s good for me to get used to it now.

I feel like this assignment posed its fair share of challenges and learning opportunities. I was a little afraid of some of the tasks required in this assignment, including the use of external recording devices to get better sound quality on the video. However, this proved to not be as difficult as we were thinking. We would clap before we would record so we could see that spike in the audio and use that as our starting point when it comes to lining up the voices with the lips. We were able to pull it off pretty well if I do say so myself.

I could see myself using the experiences and things I learned in this video in the very near future. I will be graduating this May and the future is broad. I think regardless of whether I choose to go into public relations or journalism, the things I learned making this video will help me wherever I end up.

I think having the ability to edit a video and have it turn out fairly well with such limited resources is very applicable to the field of journalism.

I also think that having these skills of developing a small story arc, doing the editing, the sound effects and creating a promotional video, will really help me with the field of public relations.

Whatever happens, this was an assignment that required a lot of patience and a lot of fun, and I thoroughly enjoyed all of that.

Now that we’ve talked about the video, and I’ve built up the suspense and the excitement. The video that we filmed is featured below, so have a click and enjoy the flick.

 

Leave a comment